Aside

Today in class, we were talking about the most important point when we are peer reviewing.  I thought it was very interesting that we are not worried about grammar and punctuation like we were in high school.  At this point, like Jim said, that type of “local” peer editing is something that we should not be worried about at this point in our education.

It is a very good idea to only focus on the “global” aspects of peer reviewing.  Looking at the main points of the essay rather than picking out specific grammar issues will help improve our groups’ essays.

http://helios.hampshire.edu/~apmNS/design/RESOURCES/PEER_ED.html

The attached link expresses the strategies of peer reviewing.  It talks about the most important points being the overall flow and structure, the specific content and its clarity, and how well it meets the objectives.  I find this interesting because it talks about the same points that were pointed out in class.  Although it also talks about the importance of correcting technical issues, (grammar, punctuation, sentence structure, etc.) these are more towards the bottom of the list so they are not as important.

When I begin peer editing my group’s essays, I will try to really focus on the overall message it sends as well as how it meets the objectives.  I also think I will look at issues with punctuation and grammar to make sure I am helping my group to the fullest extent.

How to Peer Edit

Leave a comment